Meet our Spring 2017 Interns!

Check out our Fantastic Five, also known as Parky Park & the Funky Bunch: Andrew Ingersoll, Jordan Jirschele, Connor McNerney, Alicia Proudfoot, and Heidi Zenisek!

JZQD8514

Meet Andrew Ingersoll

Hometown: San Diego, CA
Education: University of California, Berkeley

20170511_113822

What is your Spirit Tool? Albuterol Inhaler

What is your breakfast go-to? Bananas

How did you hear about Franconia? I met Michael Berens While I was in school at Berkeley. He worked with Mark di Suvero at Socrates in the 90s where he met John and heard about Franconia.

What is your favorite sculpture in the park?
I love the Death Bed. Its a really nice place to take my shoes off and clear my mind.

What are you working on here?
Good question. I’ve been working on some small stuff, ordinary stuff, paint, hoses, fences, carpet, dirt, grass, wood, cement. Going to junkyards and thrift stores, trying to spark something that feels right for the setting. I like the idea of “land art”.

How does this relate to your past work?
I feel like I’m always pooling from the same well of interests and experiences, I like to think of my work like opinions, sometimes they change a little, and there are so many things to have opinions about.

What have you gained so far from living and working at Franconia?
I learned how to make bomb ass caramelized onions from Kendra. She also taught us how to weld.

How does this relate to your past work?
I feel like I’m always pulling******** from the same well of interests and experiences, I like to think of my work like opinions, sometimes they change a little, and there are so many things to have opinions about.

 

Meet Jordan Jirschele 

Hometown: Menomonee Falls, WI
Education: BFA in studio art with concentration in drawing, University of Wisconsin Stout. Minor: English-Writing

IMG_0563

What is your Spirit Tool? Coffee

What is your breakfast go-to? breakfast burrito

How did you hear about Franconia? Professors Tom Hollenback and Kelly O’Brien

What is your favorite sculpture in the park? Land of Plenty by Rollin Marquette

What are you working on here? Two wooden bathroom sinks

How does this relate to your past work?
It’s a different rendition of a piece I did for my senior thesis exhibition, titled “The Same, But Different.”  This version of the piece will be called “The Same, But Different (But Different).”

What have you gained so far from living and working at Franconia?
Different methods for the same problem, and also the exposure to different beliefs within art.  Certain peers can restore optimism in making it as an artist.

 

Meet Connor McNerney

Hometown: Phoenix, Arizona.
Education: I have a BFA from Arizona State University.

IMG_0557

What is your Spirit Tool? A table saw

What is your breakfast go-to? Some variety of toast, sourdough is preferred.

How did you hear about Franconia? From my previous instructor, Bobby Zokaites.

What is your favorite sculpture in the park? “Getting the Hang of It” by Paul Howe

What are you working on here?
I am making a set of wood furniture and plan to combine it with architectural concrete forms.

This piece will essentially be a culmination of my art practice to date. It will tie together my ideas and concepts behind craft and art making while unifying my background in woodworking, concrete casting, and sculpture fabrication.

What have you gained so far from living and working at Franconia?
In the short time I have spent at Franconia, I have formed and gained an entire group of great artist friends ! I also have gained about 10 pounds.

 

Meet Alicia Proudfoot

Hometown: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Education: BFA, University of Alberta

IMG_0555

What is your Spirit Tool? A chainsaw as it is playfully aggressive like me (Although I will not shy away from any saw)

What is your breakfast go-to? French toast and slathered in maple syrup

How did you hear about Franconia? Professor recommendation (Royden Mills)

What is your favorite sculpture in the park? “Parade” 2013 Mike Rathbun

What are you working on here?
Chainsawing an alcove into a giant tree trunk for someone to fit tightly into like a cast. I am captivated by the notion of how a body cast has this frustration of immobility, but its restrictive purpose brings healing. I plan to alter the wood to reflect on upholstery treatment and give a domestic feeling of how family can hold this same notion of a cast.

How does this relate to your previous work?
My work focuses on how family and the individual are pitted against each other in everyday conversation. I like to explore the emotions of how these two entities both seek and try to defy the other in a visual dialogue of form and material. I have returned to the domestic object of a couch so many times in my work that I am probably obsessed. There is so much sentimental value placed in upholstery that I see them as caricatures of these dialogues that are imbued with familial history and personal memories. This upholstery monolith piece I am making at Franconia deals with the restrictive, yet healing emotions of family and encourages others to talk about these combative emotions.

What have you gained so far from living and working at Franconia?
A sense of fashion with my bright orange chainsaw chaps Hey-O!!

 

Meet Heidi Zenisek

Hometown: Solon, IA
Education: BFA in Studio Farts from the University of Iowa

IMG_4885

What is your spirit tool? Does silicon count as a tool?

What is your breakfast go-to? A vat of coffee.

How did you hear about Franconia? Through previous intern artist, Lauren Frances Evans!

What is your favorite sculpture in the park? Skallagrim or 69+1=70

What are you working on here? A portal to another dimension a.k.a the woods. Also, a loaf pole. A towering pole of loaves.

How does this relate to your past work?
I’m always considering space, place, community, and commodity.

What have you gained so far from living and working at Franconia? A Franconia Fam and Interns of my Heart.

 

 

The Intern Artist Program is made possible through generous lead support provided by the Woodbury Foundation, with additional support provided by the Sage Cleveland Foundation and RBC Wealth Management, and many generous individuals. Established in 1996, the Intern Artist Program provides career-bound national and international emerging artists the opportunity to create large-scale three-dimensional artwork, acquire skills in artistic practice, and participate in public engagement programs while in residency at Franconia.

Thank you!

 

One comment

  1. Jennifer Lang · · Reply

    Jordan Jirschele is my son. I’m so happy and excited to see and read about all the work these interns are doing.

Leave a Reply

