Meet our Summer 2017 Intern Artists!

Summertime is peak season here at Franconia Sculpture Park, with our Music@Franconia series, Kids Make Sculpture workshops, scratch block workshops and Community Collaboration Hot Metal Pour, the Hot Metal Resident Artist Pour, and more visitors than any other time of the year! Meet the crew that keeps us going through our hottest time of the year:

SummerInterns2017_Group_15 

 

ConnorMcNerney2

Connor McNerney

Hometown: Phoenix, AZ
Education:  BFA Sculpture, Arizona State University

How did you hear about Franconia? My foundry professor, Bobby Zokaites

What is your favorite sculpture in the park? Deathbed by Jess Hirsch

Spirit tool:   Tablesaw

What are you working on here?
A large wooden stele that combines a monumental architectural form with smaller objects. I want to include handmade wooden furniture and found objects.

How does this relate to your past work or other projects? 
I have a background that blends art and craft. I have recently been focusing on woodworking and sculpture. This will be a combination of a larger sculpture object with smaller handmade woodworking forms.

What are you hoping to gain from living and working at Franconia? What have you gained thus far?
I want to work big… but small too. I have be able to work at a massive monumental scale while also being able to work on smaller, more intimate handheld objects. So far I have gained a new group of contacts who are both friends I like very much and artists I admire.

 

IMG_2892

C.Y. OK

Hometown: South Korea.
Education: MFA Candidate in Art and Technology at School of Art Institute of Chicago.

How did you hear about Franconia? A visiting artist introduced residencies you should apply if you are a young artist.

What is your favorite sculpture in the park? Pendulum Digger by Vince Donarski

Spirit tool: A multimeter.

What are you working on here? A human scale sculpture that is covered with electronics components.
How does this relate to your past work or other projects? As a former electronics engineer and a current visual artist, I try to merge technology into my work to emerge the irony of technology in modern society.

What are you hoping to gain from living and working at Franconia? What have you gained thus far? Physical working is hard. But it also feels like meditation to me. It balance out my thinking and making process for my work.

 

NicoleCheng_3

Nicole Cheng

Hometown: Hong Kong

Education:  Middlebury College, Vermont

How did you hear about Franconia? My art professor William Ransom, a past artist fellow here, introduced the place to me.

What is your favorite sculpture in the park? The Northern Oracle: We Will Tear The Roof Off the Mother by Heather Hart.

Spirit tool:  My hands.

What are you working on here? I’m hugging a chunk of granite with a concrete form.

How does this relate to your past work or other projects? Much of my work deals with the human body and its relation to plants and other organisms. With all the crazy ways people interact with art here at Franconia, I wanted to make something which people would lay their bodies on and around and make them interact with surfaces and parts of nature they normally wouldn’t,

What are you hoping to gain from living and working at Franconia? What have you gained thus far? I learned how to stick weld and am incorporating steel, stone and concrete for the first time in my work! Also friends.

IMG_2087

Elicia Epstein

Hometown: Lincoln, MA

Education: Pomona College

How did you hear about Franconia?: Through the awesome former sculpture tech at Pomona (and previous Franconia intern and fellowship artist) William Ransom

What is your favorite sculpture in the park? Caution Pike: NO SWIMMING by Matt Falvey

Spirit tool: Soapstone

What are you working on here? A giant steel thing

How does this relate to your past work or other projects? It’s a form I’ve been doodling since I was little. Like some of my other work, it concerns magic, moment and the body.

What are you hoping to gain from living and working at Franconia? What have you gained thus far? I’m hoping to become more familiar with steel in general, and hone my welding. I would also like to learn how to hoist myself up in the gantry, maybe using a harness if I can find one around here. So far, I have gotten really unafraid of riding golf carts at high speeds and opening power tools up to try and fix them.

SummerInterns2017_Group_9.jpg

Leave a Reply

