100% Deet: Meet our 2016 summer interns!

IMG_4447Me-Oh-My! Summer is flying by!  In a few short weeks, we will be welcoming over 20 iron artists from around the world to Franconia Sculpture Park to prepare for our annual Community Iron Pour! But before things get too hot-see what I did there- we want to introduce you to our summer interns, Matt, Lily, Christine and Joe, who have all been working hard on their sculptures and softening all of all hearts…DAW YOU GUYS!

Also, this just in, we have a special announcement: Due to the astounding work of our office manager, Joy, we have walkie talkies!


Check one two Richelle speaking OVER.


Meet Matt Falvey! 

Matt Falvey

 

Where are you coming from and what were you doing?

I am coming from Bloomington, IN by the ways of south Florida. Currently I am a sculpture grad at I.U.B.

One thing you WANT us to know about you–

I have over fifty plastic flamingos in my studio in Bloomington, IN

What is your favorite tool and why?

My favorite tool is the craftsman ratchet wrench. There is no fumbling around with sockets falling off of the ratchet, or lost sockets to worry about. They are also streamline and not cumbersome.

What was your first impression upon arriving at FSP?

When I turned in to the park, I mumbled “Oh my gosh, I am living at a real road side attraction, THIS IS AWESOME!”

Where does your inspiration derive from? Who? What?

 My inspiration derives from how I and where I was raised. The most important components to my work and thought process are the interactions and relations from my immediate environment. Growing up in south Florida the kitschy ascetic of the tropical paradise is

What do you consider to be your most successful piece thus far in your career? 

My most successful piece so far is “Jimmy is a football star”

Untitled1

What do you hope to gain during your internship at FSP?

I hope grow my connections to be able to expand my practice and my abilities to collaborate with the community.


.. CAN YOU HEAR ME? OVER: Richelle here- I think it’s important that everyone know that Matt is a committed fisherman who has found a fishing partner in Paul (one of our park managers). The rest of us have greatly benefited–FISH FRY!


Meet Christine Dewancker!

IMG_4491

Where are you coming from and what were you doing?

I live in Toronto, Ontario where I make art, work at an arts education non-profit and a record distribution and music label.

One thing you WANT us to know about you–

I have had many different jobs to support myself and my practice including working as a housekeeper, server, gallery salesperson, framer, coach, box office sales, artist assistant, curator, project manager, baker, warehouse clerk, arts administrator and teacher and have lived in various parts of Canada including Alberta, Quebec and Ontario. I think it is important to talk about how artists make a living and the kinds of support needed to carry out a creative life.
What is your favorite tool and why?
My favourite tool would either be the tape measurer or clamp; both of these tools are necessary for planning, accuracy and peace of mind.

What was your first impression upon arriving at FSP?

My first impression upon arriving at Franconia was an overwhelming and inspiring feeling of possibility; the amount of work exhibited on the grounds and the variety of artists working alongside each other is incredible. I have loved learning about the community of folks who make this place possible. The amount of dedication / hard work and shared vision needed to operate this place is no small feat and I am very grateful to be a part of it.

Where does your inspiration derive from? Who? What?

I am continuously inspired by my surroundings, who I am in conversation with, and what I am reading. Most of my projects are inspired by a physical place; something I think a lot about in my work is the built environment, and how we as a society have shaped and are constantly reshaping the world around us. Some artists that have had a large influence on my thinking about art but also in life are Joseph Beuys, Jenny Holzer, Mierle Laderman Ukeles, Agnes Dene, Richard Long to name a few. A book that changed my perception about what art is and could do was Participation, an anthology of essays edited by Claire Bishop; I read this book in my final year of undergrad and I still think about it.

What do you consider to be your most successful piece thus far in your career? 

riv

This piece entitled, To Love You Deeply I Look To My Mind’s Eye, was a project that took place in Toronto during an exhibition throughout the city. The project was a collaboration with landscape designer, Katie Strang, which explored and celebrated the unique geographic feature of a neighbourhood and the significance the Garrison Creek has within a local community. To create this piece we used over 1400 feet of solar powered LED lights as well as over 200 paper boats. We conducted community boat building workshops where participants could learn about the lost creek and build a wax-paper boat to be included in the final installation. We also collaborated with local historians to conduct a moonlit Lost River Walk, where we traced the history of the creek, read poems inspired by the lost creek and talked about city planning within the neighbourhood. This piece was successful not only for its scale and final form, but for the research, engagement and learning that went into its creation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What do you hope to gain during your internship at FSP?

I have many hopes and aspirations for my time at Franconia that are both personal and artistic. Having the opportunity to work large scale is something I want to take advantage of while I am here and learning from fellow artists and residents at Franconia has been so rewarding. Having a focused, dedicated time to make work is a privilege and I am excited to dig into my work here.


Calling Christine can you hear me Christine. CHRISTINE. Saw dust everywhere. CHRISTINE.Over. 


Meet Lily Reeves Montgomery!

IMG_4474

Where are you coming from and what were you doing?

I’m coming to FSP from Phoenix, AZ where I’m getting a master’s degree in sculpture at Arizona State University.

One thing you WANT us to know about you–

I sometimes will do inappropriate and crazy things for my artwork.

What is your favorite tool and why?

Controlled fire, because you can do the most magical things!

What was your first impression upon arriving at FSP?

It was a lot like everyone had said, the park was beautiful, and I thought I would have a harder time living in the same house as so many people but it turned out to be incredibly wonderful.

Where does your inspiration derive from? Who? What?

Mostly my own childhood and upbringing, but I also look at a lot of contemporary folk art and surrealist artists from the 20s-present. I find that my art practice is the closest thing I have to creating and connecting people to a higher consciousness, or at least to get them to question their own experiences.

 What do you consider to be your most successful piece thus far in your career? 

Probably my undergraduate thesis work, Bodies of Light.

3-Bodies

What do you hope to gain during your internship at FSP?

Skills and knowledge about large outdoor sculpture, and to make relationships that are personal as well as professional.


Beep Beep UH Lily can you hear me? Over. The crumbs, kitchen floor, needs assistance. Over.


Meet Joe Han!

IMG_4551

Where are you coming from and what were you doing?

I am originally from South Korea, but now I live in Greensboro, North Carolina. I am an undergraduate student studying sculpture at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Right before I came here, I was experimenting with kinetic sculpture.

One thing you WANT us to know about you–

I will take anything metal from you for free.

What is your favorite tool and why?

My favorite tool is the MIG welder because I love the sound it makes when all the settings are just right.

What was your first impression upon arriving at FSP?

When I first saw the park, I was somewhat excited and scared at the same time. But after meeting everyone, I was relieved.

Where does your inspiration derive from? Who? What?

I often visit scrap yards to find strange looking metal scrap. I get most of my inspiration from found objects.

 What do you consider to be your most successful piece thus far in your career? 

This is a metal sculpture that I made during fall semester of 2015 at UNCG. I was experimenting with different way of joining metal and semi kinetic sculpture.

Untitled4.png

What do you hope to gain during your internship at FSP?

I hope to gain knowledge and technique on making and installing large sculpture. Also, I’d like to have more experiment with interactive and kinetic sculpture.


Joe can you hear me Joe? Over. Code RED: we’re out of freeze-pops.Over.


IMG_4436

You can come meet Matt, Christine, Lily and Joe any day of the week at FSP, usually on the work pad hustling on their sculptures! Come ask them about their FSP experience, what they are working on, or more about the art they make! To read about our Spring interns, who we miss very much, click here!

Leave a Reply

